University Budget Committee

Purpose of the Committee

The University Budget Committee (“UBC”) is charged with serving as a deliberative body that provides the San Francisco State University President with ongoing advice and recommendations related to budget policy, planning, and assessment. The UBC aims to ensure that the University’s priorities are reflected in its budget through coordinated consultation, discussion, education, and outreach to the University community. The UBC is comprised of SF State faculty, staff, students and administrators. Members of the UBC, with a shared commitment to transparency in fiscal decision-making, serve to inform the University and community about budget matters, and bring concerns of the students, faculty and staff to the administration.

The UBC generally meets monthly, and holds additional meetings as needed.  Meeting dates are posted below and published in CampusMemo. All meetings are open to the public.

Future UBC Meetings

All UBC meetings are held via Zoom until further notice. Communication to the UBC is always welcome by using the feedback link to the right.

For your timely updates to the University budget, please check Budget Administration and Operations' website.

  • Thursday, February 23, 2023 from 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM via Zoom 
  • Thursday, March 16, 2023 from 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM via Zoom
  • Thursday, April 20, 2023 from 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM via Zoom
  • Thursday, May 18, 2023 from 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM via Zoom

UBC meetings are open to the campus community. Dates and times are subject to change. If you wish to attend a meeting as a guest, or have other questions about the UBC, please email

University Budget Committee Office Hour Sessions

Members of the University Budget Committee (UBC) invite you to attend the UBC Office Hours, for all campus employees and students to provide feedback on meeting presentations, suggest topics for future meetings, discuss university fund-related questions, etc. This is an opportunity to dialogue directly with your UBC member-peers, as sessions are offered specifically for staff, faculty/MPPS, and students by these members directly.

  • Friday, December 16, 2022
    • For Staff: from 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM via Zoom; link is here Password: UBC2022
    • For Faculty/MPPs: from 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM via Zoom; link is here Password: 043999

If you would like to attend either the faculty/MPP or staff session, please email In your email, indicate your intended session and the session date. 

University Budget Committee Charge

Commitment to Budget Transparency

University Budget Committee Members

Co-Chairs (voting) members


Membership Term

Jeff Wilson *

CFO & VP, Administration & Finance

Indefinite Term

Amy Sueyoshi *

Provost & VP, Academic Affairs

Indefinite Term

President’s Cabinet (voting) members


Jamillah Moore

VP, Student Affairs & Enrollment Management

Indefinite Term

Jeff Jackanicz

VP, University Advancement

Indefinite Term

Jason Porth

VP, University Enterprises

Indefinite Term

Dean (voting) member



Eugene Sivadas *

Dean, Lam Family College of Business

Fall ‘21 – Fall ‘23

Staff (voting) members


Jennifer Daly Faculty Personnel Manager/Financial Analyst, LCA Fall ‘20 – Fall ‘23

Mary Menees *

Senior Operations Officer, Division of Graduate Studies

Spring ‘20 – Fall ‘23
Dylan Mooney IT Helpdesk/Computer Lab Manager, HSS Fall ‘20 – Fall ‘23
Daniel Gabriner

Admin Analyst/Specialist, College of Ethnic Studies

Fall ‘22 –  Fall ‘24
Irving Santana Admin Analyst/Specialist, LCA Fall ‘22 –  Fall ‘24

Student (voting) members



Stephen Lee *

Associated Students representative

Indefinite Term

Ersa Rao

Associated Students representative

Indefinite Term

Faculty (voting) members


Gretchen LeBuhn Professor, Biology, College of Science & Engineering Fall ‘21 - Fall ‘24
Lufei Ruan Lam Family College of Business Fall ‘22- Fall ‘25
Akm Newaz Professor, Physics and Astronomy, College of Science & Engineering Fall ‘21 - Fall ‘24

Tiffany O’Shaughnessy

College of Health & Social Sciences

Fall ‘22- Fall ‘25

Genie Stowers *

Public Administration Program/PACE College of Health & Social Sciences

Fall ‘21 - Fall ‘24

Ex Officio Senate (voting) members



Michael Goldman *

Academic Senate Chair

Indefinite Term

Alaric Trousdale

Academic Senate Strategic Initiatives Committee Chair                   

Indefinite Term
Darlene Yee-Melichar ASCSU representative Indefinite Term

Ex Officio Advisory (non-voting) members or designees



Lynn Mahoney

University President

Indefinite Term

Elena Stoian

Executive Director, Budget Administration & Operations

Indefinite Term

Dwayne Banks

Cabinet Budget Officer: Academic Affairs

Indefinite Term

Katherine Lynch

Senior Associate Vice President, Enrollment Management

Indefinite Term

Cesar Mozo

Cabinet Budget Officer: Administration & Finance

Indefinite Term

David Schachman

Cabinet Budget Officer: Student Affairs/Enrollment Management

Indefinite Term

Venesia Thompson-Ramsay

Cabinet Budget Officer: University Advancement

Indefinite Term

Tammie Ridgell

Cabinet Budget Officer: University Enterprises

Indefinite Term

Jamil Sheared

Campus Labor council rep: APC

Indefinite Term

James Martel

Campus Labor council rep: CFA

Indefinite Term

Sandee Noda

Campus Labor council rep: CSUEU

Indefinite Term


Campus Labor council rep: SUPA

Indefinite Term

Deborah Elia

Campus Labor council rep: Teamsters

Indefinite Term


Campus Labor council rep: UAPD

Indefinite Term

Ashkan Forouhi

Campus Labor council rep: UAW

Indefinite Term

Nancy Ganner

UBC Coordinator, Administration & Finance

Indefinite Term

*Steering Committee members

UBC Meeting Presentations


We want to hear from you

Submit feedback and questions about the University budget.

November 5, 2015

May 28, 2015

March 2, 2015

October 22, 2014

FY 2013–14 Meeting Minutes

FY 2012–13 Meeting Minutes

FY 2011–12 Meeting Minutes

FY 2010–11 Meeting Minutes

FY 2009–10 Meeting Minutes

FY 2008–09 Meeting Minutes