University Budget Committee

Purpose of the Committee

The University Budget Committee (“UBC”) is charged with serving as a deliberative body that provides the San Francisco State University President with ongoing advice and recommendations related to budget policy, planning, and assessment. The UBC aims to ensure that the University’s priorities are reflected in its budget through coordinated consultation, discussion, education, and outreach to the University community. The UBC is comprised of SF State faculty, staff, students and administrators. Members of the UBC, with a shared commitment to transparency in fiscal decision-making, serve to inform the University and community about budget matters, and bring concerns of the students, faculty and staff to the administration.

The UBC generally meets monthly, and holds additional meetings as needed.  Meeting dates are posted below and published in CampusMemo. All meetings are open to the public.

Future UBC Meetings

All UBC meetings are held via Zoom until further notice. Communication to the UBC is always welcome by using the feedback link to the right.

For your timely updates to the University budget, please check the Budget office’s website

  • Thursday, October 28, 2021, from 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. via Zoom
  • Thursday, November 18, 2021, from 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. via Zoom
  • Thursday, December 16, 2021, from 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. via Zoom

UBC meetings are open to the campus community. Dates and times are subject to change. If you wish to attend a meeting as a guest, or have other questions about the UBC, please email

University Budget Committee “office hours” listening sessions

Members of the University Budget Committee (UBC) invite you to attend the UBC “office hours”, for all campus employees and students to provide feedback on meeting presentations, suggest topics for future meetings, discuss university fund-related questions, etc. This is an opportunity to dialogue directly with your UBC member-peers, as sessions are offered specifically for staff, faculty/MPPS, students by these members directly.

Fall 2021 UBC Office Hour dates are:

  • Friday, September 24, 2021 from 10:00AM – 11:00AM via Zoom
  • Friday, October 29, 2021 from 10:00AM – 11:00AM via Zoom
  • Friday, November 19, 2021 from 10:00AM – 11:00AM via Zoom
  • Friday, December 17, 2021 from 10:00AM – 11:00AM via Zoom

RSVP for any session here: UBC Office Hours RSVP

2021-2022 University Budget explained on Nov. 4 and Nov. 12

All campus employees are invited to an overview of the 2021-2022 university budget, presented by VP & CFO Jeff Wilson and Provost Jennifer Summit, covering the budget process from the State of California to CSU to San Francisco State University. The 45-minute presentation will be offered twice, virtually, on Thursday November 4th from 11am-12pm, and on Friday, November 12th from 10am – 11am. To learn about the budget process before you attend, you can visit this link on the budget website: This event welcomes persons with disabilities and may provide reasonable accommodations upon request. If you would like to attend, please email

University Budget Committee Charge

Commitment to Budget Transparency

University Budget Committee Members

Co-Chairs (voting) members


Jeff Wilson

CFO & VP, Administration & Finance

Jennifer Summit

Provost & VP, Academic Affairs

President’s Cabinet (voting) members


Jamillah Moore

VP, Student Affairs & Enrollment Management

Jeff Jackanicz

VP, University Advancement

Jason Porth

VP, University Enterprises

Dean (voting) member


Eugene Sivadas*

Dean, Lam Family College of Business

Staff (voting) members


Jennifer Daly Faculty Personnel Manager/Financial Analyst, LCA

Mary Menees*

Senior Operations Officer, Division of Graduate Studies

Dylan Mooney IT Helpdesk/Computer Lab Manager, HSS
Evrim Ozer

Associate Director, Alumni Association/Alumni Relations

Renee Stephens EOP Admissions/Outreach Coordinator, Enrollment Management

Student (voting) members


Joshua Ochoa*

President, Associated Students

Nia Hall

VP of Finance, Associated Students

Faculty (voting) members


Akm Newaz Professor, Physics and Astronomy, COSE
Benjamin Kumli Lecturer, Recreation, Parks, Tourism/Holistic Health, HSS

Kathleen Mortier

Assistant Professor, Special Education, GCOE

Gitanjali Shahani

Professor/Chair, English Language & Literature, LCA

Genie Stowers*

Public Administration Program/PACE, HSS

Ex Officio Senate (voting) members


Teddy Albiniak*

Senate Chair

Michael Goldman

S.I.C. Chair

Darlene Yee-Melichar


Ex Officio Advisory (non-voting) members or designees


Lynn Mahoney

University President

Elena Stoian

Executive Director, Budget Administration & Operations

Dwayne Banks

Cabinet Budget Officer: Academic Affairs

Katherine Lynch

Senior Associate Vice President, Enrollment Management

Cesar Mozo

Cabinet Budget Officer: Administration & Finance

Mirel Tikkanen

Cabinet Budget Officer: Student Affairs/Enrollment Mgmt

Venesia Thompson-Ramsay

Cabinet Budget Officer: University Advancement

Tammie Ridgell

Cabinet Budget Officer: University Enterprises

Jamil Sheared

Campus Labor council rep: APC

James Martel

Campus Labor council rep: CFA

Sandee Noda

Campus Labor council rep: CSUEU

Jaime Haymond

Campus Labor council rep: SUPA

Deborah Elia

Campus Labor council rep: Teamsters


Campus Labor council rep: UAPD

Lark Winner

Campus Labor council rep: UAW

Nancy Ganner

UBC support staff, Administration & Finance

*Steering Committee members

Past UBC Meeting Presentations

September 23, 2021

August 26, 2021

May 28, 2021

May 20, 2021

April 29, 2021

March 18, 2021

February 25, 2021

January 28, 2021

San Francisco State University aerial view of the campus

We want to hear from you

Submit feedback and questions about the University budget

November 5, 2015

May 28, 2015

March 2, 2015

October 22, 2014

FY 2013–14 Meeting Minutes

FY 2012–13 Meeting Minutes

FY 2011–12 Meeting Minutes

FY 2010–11 Meeting Minutes

FY 2009–10 Meeting Minutes

FY 2008–09 Meeting Minutes